«

»

Aug 07

Getting to know me

Better late than never… #PitchWars #PimpMyBio. Actually should that also be #BetterLateThanNever? #TwitterIsHard

My manuscript aesthetic collage will reveal to you that I’m no graphic designer, though I wish I were. (There must be an online tool somewhere that converts Pinterest boards to pretty pics, but I did this manually.)

An ugly alchemist makes a magic mirror, only to discover that beauty doesn’t fix her problems and magic always has a price. In the tradition of Wicked and The Forbidden Wish, my YA fantasy novel The Alchemist’s Mirror brings to life the backstory of Snow White’s stepmother in a 14th century that never was.

Alchemist's Mirror aesthetic

Facts about me

  • I can’t remember when I didn’t want to be an author. I wrote my first story in Kindergarten, and I still have it (thanks, Mom!). It was about a princess, a dragon, and a knight, so… not much has changed.
  • pimpmybioI graduated from the University of Michigan. (Go Blue!)
  • My favorite Doctor is Ten (with Rose Tyler, as it should be—FIGHT ME), but Nine was my first, and you never forget your first Doctor.
  • I love ballroom dancing (that’s how I met my husband!).
  • I have two kids, both boys, and the oldest starts Kindergarten in the fall. I’m more worried about how the teachers will react to me than about his success (he’ll be fine; I’m…assertive).
  • Costumes I’ve worn in public: Jem, She-Ra, Wonder Woman (before everyone knew she was cool!), Princess Peach, Princess Buttercup, Lucy Wilde (my son really wanted to be a Minion), Galadriel
  • I carry teabags in my purse because you never know when you might want tea, like airplanes that carry only Lipton, fancy dinners that don’t have decaffeinated black tea for drinking with dessert—you know, the usual. My writing ritual requires tea and I drink unhealthy quantities of it.
  • If I could be anywhere right now, it would be on a tropical beach with a drink that has a little umbrella in it.
  • Chocolate is life and you can’t persuade me otherwise. I’ve now trained myself to like dark chocolate, and the best chocolate bar I’ve ever tasted is Divine Chocolate Hazelnut Truffle. If you bribe me with that I will do almost anything for you.
  • Depending on who you are, I’m either Ravenclaw or Hufflepuff, because choosing between being kind and being right is a bit of a toss-up for me. (Uhh…Ravenclaw often wins.)
  • When I have to choose a favorite book, it’s always The Blue Sword, by Robin McKinley. (Corlath! *swoon*)

Join the Conversation

%d bloggers like this: